Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Lisa Childers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLisa ChildersCounty Extension Director (910) 321-6880 lisa_childers@ncsu.eduCumberland County

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Jessica Drake, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJessica DrakeExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (910) 321-6867 jessica_drake@ncsu.eduCumberland CountyPhoto of Martina Fortune, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMartina Fortune4-H Program Assistant, 4-H Youth Development - Military Clubs (910) 321-6860 (Office) mcfortun@ncsu.eduCumberland County

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Kenny Bailey, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionKenny BaileyExtension Agent, Agriculture (910) 321-6871 kenneth_bailey@ncsu.eduCumberland CountyPhoto of Anthony Growe, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAnthony GroweExtension Agent, Agriculture - Field Crops (910) 321-6875 amgrowe@ncsu.eduCumberland CountyPhoto of Liz Lahti, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLiz LahtiArea Agent, Agriculture - Livestock (910) 321-6862 liz_lahti@ncsu.eduCumberland CountyPhoto of Jason Weathington, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJason WeathingtonExtension Agent, Agriculture - Urban Horticulture (910) 321-6870 jason_weathington@ncsu.eduCumberland County

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Candy Underwood, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCandy UnderwoodExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (910) 321-6869 candy_underwood@ncsu.eduCumberland County

Support

Photo of Jeanie Edwards, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJeanie EdwardsAdministrative Support Specialist, 4-H Youth Development (910) 321-6864 jeanie_edwards@ncsu.eduCumberland CountyPhoto of Susan Johnson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSusan JohnsonAdministrative Coordinator, 4-H , FCS, Urban Horticulture Support (910) 321-6405 susan_johnson@ncsu.eduCumberland County

Area Specialized Agents

These agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Cumberland County Center, they may not be present in the Cumberland County Center. Please contact the Cumberland County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Richard Goforth, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRichard GoforthArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 18 CountiesBased out of Union(704) 283-3801 (Office) richard_goforth@ncsu.eduUnion County Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Lynette Johnston, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Lynette JohnstonArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 50 CountiesBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science(919) 515-0303 lynette_johnston@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science Photo of Colby Lambert, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionColby LambertArea Specialized Agent, Forestry Serves 32 CountiesBased out of Harnett(910) 814-6041 colby_lambert@ncsu.eduHarnett County Photo of Danny Lauderdale, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDanny LauderdaleArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Eastern Region Serves 44 CountiesBased out of Wilson(252) 237-0111 (Office) danny_lauderdale@ncsu.eduWilson County Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Photo of Rachel McDowell, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRachel McDowellArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 34 CountiesBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9155 romcdowe@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Chip Simmons, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Chip Simmons, IIIArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety Serves 51 CountiesBased out of Horticultural Science(919) 414-5632 odsimmon@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Allan Thornton, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAllan ThorntonArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 25 CountiesBased out of Horticultural Science(910) 592-7161 (Office) allan_thornton@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County